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Thank You, Stonecrest Leadership
 Chief Judge Curtis W. Miller

 Clerk Mallory Minor, Municipal Court Administrator

 Georgia State Senator Tonya Anderson



Georgia Justice Project 

Understanding & Cleaning Up Your Record

Felony Probation Reform

Reducing Driver’s License Suspensions: SB 10

Voting With a Criminal Record

TODAY’S ROADMAP



 GOALS & THEORY OF CHANGE
Reduce the number of Georgians under 
correctional control

Reduce reentry barriers for the formerly 
incarcerated and justice involved





Expanding 
Access to Record 

Clearing in 
Georgia



Understanding your Georgia 
Criminal History 

….and what you can do about it



Terms to know

Expungement

Restriction & Sealing

Pardon

First Offender



The Big Picture

Felony Convictions

Misdemeanor Convictions

First Offender Cases

Pending Charges

Non-convictions

What you can do to clean 
up your record in Georgia



What you can do to “clean up” a 
felony conviction

Retroactive First Offender
If you were eligible at the time you were sentenced, you may have received First 
Offender

If you were eligible but didn’t get it, you may be able to go back and get it now

Some offenses excluded (serious violent felonies, serious sex offenses, others)
Survivors First Act

New law that may allow you to vacate or restrict and seal your conviction if you are a 
survivor of human or sex trafficking

Restriction & Sealing of Pardoned Felony Convictions (SB 288)
If you received a Pardon from the State Board of Pardons & Paroles, you may be able 
to restrict & seal the record of your felony conviction(s)

Serious violent felonies and certain sex crimes are excluded

You can apply for a Pardon five years after you complete your sentence (probation, 
parole, or incarceration sentence)



Who can apply for a General Pardon?
 Convicted of a felony offense

 Misdemeanors in some circumstances

 Probation/Parole sentence complete for at least 5 years
 Non-reporting status doesn’t mean sentence is complete

 Sometimes wait time can be waived (rare)

 Lived a “law-abiding life” for 5 years before applying
 Paid fines and restitution 

 Fines – Is sentence complete?

 No open cases or pending charges



What you can do to “clean up” a 
misdemeanor conviction

Retroactive First Offender
You can get First Offender for a misdemeanor OR felony, but you can only use it once

If you were eligible but didn’t get it, you may be able to go back and get it now 

Some misdemeanor offenses excluded (e.g. DUI)

Survivors First Act
New law that may allow you to vacate or restrict and seal your conviction if you are a 
survivor of human or sex trafficking

Restriction & Sealing of Up to Two Misdemeanor Convictions (SB 288)
If you completed your misdemeanor sentence and haven’t been convicted of anything 
in the last 4 years, you may be able to restrict & seal your misdemeanor conviction

Some misdemeanors are excluded (including DUI) 



Excluded misdemeanor offenses

 Family violence simple assault, family violence simple battery,    
family violence battery (unless Youthful Offender-under 21 when 
arrested)

 Excluded for all ages
Family violence stalking/Violating a family violence order/Obstructing 911 call

Child molestation/Enticing a child for indecent purposes

Improper sexual contact by employee or agent

Public indecency/Peeping Tom

Keeping a place of prostitution/Pimping/Pandering by compulsion

Sexual battery

Certain offenses related to minors

Certain theft offenses

DUI & certain traffic offenses



Common issues

Non- convictions
 (including first offender, conditional 

discharge)

Dead Docket

Record Corrections

Active Supervision



Knowing your rights

Employment

Housing 

 Early Probation Termination

Voting 



Private Background Report

Applies to both housing and employment. 
Reports are frequently wrong
Consumer reporting agencies governed by the Fair Credit Reporting Act

•Must be told if denied due to the report (Adverse Action Letter)
•Must receive copy or may request a copy
•Right to dispute incorrect information
•To get a copy of credit report or dispute error go to this website:

•https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles/disputing-errors-your-credit-reports 
Always request a copy!
7 year rule – companies cannot report non-conviction criminal history that is 
over 7 years old (e.g. dismissal, acquittal, no bill etc.)

https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles/disputing-errors-your-credit-reports


Does the Law Protect People with a Record?

 Criminal records status is not a protected class, BUT certain 
criminal history policies may result in discrimination against a 
protected class (e.g., race & ethnicity). 

 Employers cannot have blanket policies (must be a business 
necessity)

 Employers should not consider arrests alone
 EEOC - Employers must consider:

• Nature & gravity of offense(s)
• Time that has passed
• Nature of the job held or sought
• https://www.eeoc.gov/how-file-charge-employment-discrimination 

Employment

https://www.eeoc.gov/how-file-charge-employment-discrimination


What can employers ask?
 May ask about arrests or convictions in Georgia.

 No time limit on how far back employers can search.

RECOMMENDATIONS:

1. Clear what you can from your record! 
2. Should not leave question blank or say “will discuss at interview”

3. Employers may treat as honesty test – Know your record!

4. Be brief and to the point when explaining – be honest and take responsibility, focus 
on what you have learned.

5. Only answer the questions asked.

6. You may want to prepare a brief statement.

7. Focus on types of jobs that are not related to your charges.



How can I be job ready?

 Have an updated resume and cover letter
 Have documents such as birth certificate, ID/passport, and 

other documents to establish employment
 Keep copies of documents related to your cases and have 

them ready
 Have character letters/letters of reference
 Be persistent



How can a record be considered 
when applying for housing? 
 No blanket exclusions – for arrest or conviction. 

 Public and Private Housing Providers must do an individualized assessment of each applicant’s criminal  
history:  

Factors to consider: 
Facts or circumstances surrounding the criminal conduct; 
Age of the individual at the time of the conduct; 
Evidence that the individual has maintained a good tenant history before and/or after the 
conviction or conduct; and 
Evidence of rehabilitation efforts

 Federally funded housing (e.g., PHAs) CANNOT use arrest records as the basis for denying admission, 
terminating assistance, or evicting tenants.

To make a complaint:
https://gceo.georgia.gov/complaints/fair-housing-complaint-form 
https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/fair_housing_equal_opp/online-complaint 

https://gceo.georgia.gov/complaints/fair-housing-complaint-form
https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/fair_housing_equal_opp/online-complaint


Housing self advocacy 
 Ask for the property’s rental policies before applying and 

challenge any language excluding all individuals with a criminal 
record

 Look for management companies with multiple properties that 
would allow you to transfer the application fee 

 Apply for smaller, private housings
 If your application is denied:

Time matters!!!

Request a written notice of the rejection & ask for the reasons for the denial.

Request a copy of the background check.

Review the background check for accuracy & completeness.

Consider filing a complaint (for race discrimination) 



GCIC Purpose Code “U” Required

Sample GCIC Code U Sample GCIC Request

DISCLAIMER: Not all GCIC request forms will look like 
the one above. Look for keywords like “Purpose Code 
U” or “Personal Use” when requesting a copy of your 
record.



How to Apply for GJP

 

Intake currently closed, reopens Monday, January 8, 2024
• To apply for assistance with your criminal record, follow these steps: 

• Step 1: Email intake to request an application at 9AM on Monday, Jan 8 (intake @gjp.org). GJP’s 
Record Program accepts the first 40 applications each month. 

• Step 2: Complete the application and obtain your Purpose Code U GCIC (instructions will be 
provided)

• Step 3: Submit completed application and Purpose Code U GCIC Report to intake@GJP.org as 
soon as possible
 A request for record assistance will not be processed until we have both the application and U GCIC Report 
  If you have out of state convictions, you may be asked to get an FBI report.

• Step 4: Member of our intake team will reach out to schedule appointment or provide resources. 
 

•  If you have any questions or experience issues with email, you can call our intake line at 404-827-
0027 ext. 238

mailto:intake@GJP.org


Streamlining 
the Early 

Termination 
Process in 

Georgia 

Felony Probation Termination



 Bigger Numbers
• Georgia has more individuals on probation than any other state in the country
• Almost 200,000 on felony probation

  Longer Sentences
• Georgia's average probation sentence is 6.3 years vs the nationwide average of less 

than 2 years
• 40% of probation sentences in Georgia exceed 10 years

 Disparate Impact 
• Black people are at least TWICE as likely to be on probation as White people 

 

What is Wrong with Probation in Georgia



Who is Eligible for Early Termination of Felony Probation?

EVERYONE

After serving 3 years probation, every individual on felony 
probation will become eligible for early termination of 

their sentence so long as they meet the following criteria…
 

Eligibility 



Criteria for Eligibility 
1 2 3

No new arrests No probation revocations in 
the past 24 months Paid all restitution 



 If you have served 3 years of your felony probation 
sentence and meet all 3 criteria, generally, your 
probation officer must submit an order to terminate 
the remainder of the probation sentence to the 
sentencing court 

 In some circumstances, based on the sentence you 
received, your probation officer must submit a 
progress report and may submit an order to terminate 

Early Termination Process



 Even if you do not meet the criteria, you can pursue early 
termination of your felony probation sentence at any point 
via motion

 A hearing must be set within 90 days of submitting your 
motion

 Court will grant your motion if it determines that 
“probation is no longer necessary or appropriate for the 
ends of justice, the protection of society, and the 
rehabilitation of the defendant.”

Early Termination in General



What Can I Do 
If I Think I 

Qualify For 
Early 

Termination?

 Call your probation officer

 If you do not know the probation officer 
assigned to your case, you can call the 
probation office in the county you reside in 
and they can assist you. 

 Tell your probation officer you believe 
you meet the criteria for early 
termination and ask: 

 If they have or will be submitting a progress 
report on your behalf. 

 If they have or will be recommending your 
probation be terminated. 



Reducing 
Driver’s 
License 

Suspensions in 
Georgia 

Senate Bill 10



Driver’s 
License 

Suspension 
Reform: FTA

 Senate Bill 10 was passed in 2022

 OCGA § § 17-6-11; 40-5-56

 New law affects driver’s license 
suspensions for missing traffic 
court.

 If you miss traffic court, the court 
can stop a suspension from 
moving forward. Contact the 
court immediately.



What if My 
License Was 
Suspended 
for Missing 

Court?

 If your license was suspended for 
missing traffic court, the court can now 
reinstate your license at any time. 
Contact the court immediately

 The court can reinstate even before you 
have resolved the case or paid your 
fines.

 If the court reinstates your license but 
you cannot afford the DDS 
reinstatement fee, you may ask the 
court to waive the DDS fee.



Who is Eligible to Vote in Georgia? 

• Anyone not currently serving a sentence for a 
felony conviction

• Felony First Offender Act & Conditional 
Discharge (not revoked)

• In jail –unless serving sentence for a felony 
conviction

• Serving a misdemeanor sentence
• When felony probation & parole is complete—

you can re-register and vote.  
• Right to vote is automatically restored-you do 

not need to pay court debt or have your record 
expunged or  pardoned.  

• Trouble registering?  Get a Certificate of 
Sentence Completion from DCS. 
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